header banner
Default

Amul Provides Clarification Regarding the Emulsifier Used in Ice Cream


  • Home
  • Business
  • Amul Clarifies About Animal-Based Emulsifier Used in its Ice Creams

"As the Taste of India, the emulsifier we use is purely derived from 100 per cent vegetarian source only."

VIDEO: Amul Kulfi
Amul TV

Amul Clarifies About Animal-Based Emulsifier Used in its Ice Creams

Amul, the national dairy cooperative based at Anand in the state of Gujarat, released a statement on Friday to negate social media rumours that the company was using an emulsifier, E-471, made from an animal source. The press release stated that it ‘vociferously negates all these accusations and clarify any issues regarding the same’.

Trending Now

VIDEO: FACT CHECK: Is Amul Ice Cream Haram due to E-471 Containing Pig Fat? || Factly
Factly

“The emulsifier can be made from either animal fat or from plant oils (soybean, cande, palm, sunflower, cottonseed or coconut oil). As the Taste of India, the emulsifier we use is purely derived from 100 per cent vegetarian source only,” the statement added.

Amul released a video on twitter that Amul Ice Cream is made from milk and all ingredients used in its preparation are 100 per cent vegetarian.

#Amul Ice Cream is made from milk and all ingredients used in its preparation are 100% vegetarian. pic.twitter.com/Ctkw9BFw0p

— Amul.coop (@Amul_Coop) September 6, 2018

Amul has clarified these rumours by stating that the emulsifier used is a plant source. 

“Moreover, all Amul product packs carry a vegetarian logo, which provides a warranty and our guarantee to our esteemed customers that our products are 100% vegetarian, in accordance with the mandate of the food regulator of India, FSSAI.”

@Amul_Coop Most of #Amul #IceCreams in the #Indian market contain an #emulsifier by the name of #E471; which is extracted from #Animal #Fat mostly from #Pigs.
Can U please provide details regarding the same? like if your ice creams r for #Vegetarians
🍨🐷🍦@fssaiindia @MOFPI_GOI

— K. K. Qurashi (@Khalid_Qurashi) August 29, 2018

“All Amul Milk and Milk products are halal certified and are being exported to Gulf Cooperative Council (GCC) countries since the past 2 decades. The vegetarian logo on Amul products indicating the use of 100% vegetarian ingredients is also audited and certified by 3rd party certifications like ISP/FSSI/FSMS and Halal,” the statement added.

Also Read:

VIDEO: Amul Ice Cream कैसे होती है तैयार ? देखिए अमूल आइसक्रीम फैक्ट्री How Amul Makes Ice creams #Amul
Kisan of India

Sources


Article information

Author: Randy Fletcher

Last Updated: 1703186521

Views: 1023

Rating: 4.3 / 5 (31 voted)

Reviews: 87% of readers found this page helpful

Author information

Name: Randy Fletcher

Birthday: 1943-03-12

Address: 16152 Carroll Falls, North Jamesfort, MO 84188

Phone: +4231359174038273

Job: Article Writer

Hobby: Skiing, Ice Skating, Surfing, Wildlife Photography, Cocktail Mixing, Archery, Video Editing

Introduction: My name is Randy Fletcher, I am a Determined, unreserved, exquisite, striking, lively, tenacious, artistic person who loves writing and wants to share my knowledge and understanding with you.